Skip to main content

FAQ: How to structure your Frame.io account to work with Workfront

Written by Jared

Q: Where do Workfront-linked Projects get stored in Frame.io?

A: By default, all Workfront-linked projects will be created in a single Frame.io Workspace called “Workfront Linked Projects.”

This Workspace is given special treatment and has limited capabilities:

  • Users cannot be invited to it

  • Standalone Frame.io Projects cannot be created in it

  • It cannot be deleted

Q: Can I customize where my Workfront-linked projects are created in Frame.io?

A: Yes. If you’d like Workfront-linked projects to be created in a different Frame.io Workspace, you can configure this via a Workfront Project Template.

In Workfront Project Template > Template Details > Template association, select Frame.io Workspace. Moving forward, all projects created via this template will be created in the selected Frame.io Workspace.

Note: The listed Workspaces are populated based on the current user’s Frame.io permissions. The user must have permission to create a project in a Frame.io Workspace in order to configure the template in this way.

This capability allows you to keep your Frame.io Workspaces more organized and use existing Frame.io Workspaces to store Workfront linked projects. For example:

An admin can configure Workfront Project templates so that all projects created for the Awesome Brand Program are stored in the Awesome Brand Workspace in Frame.io, and all projects created for Stella Brand Program are stored in the Stella Brand Workspace.

Q: Who can access Workfront-linked projects in Frame.io?

A: Access and permissions to Workfront-linked Projects cannot be modified in Frame.io, and are all set via Workfront.

To prevent Frame.io Workspace members from inheriting access to Workfront-linked projects, Workfront-linked projects are always created as Restricted Projects in Frame.io - meaning they're only visible to people directly invited (in this case via Workfront).

The default Workspace called Workfront Linked Projects is locked down and cannot be edited or deleted.

Frame.io account members only see Workspaces and Projects they have been invited to.

Note: Owners, Content Admins, and Workspace Admins have elevated control over the Workspace and access to everything within it.

Q: Can I move a Project across Workspaces in Frame.io?

A: No, moving Projects across Workspaces is not available at this time.

Did this answer your question?